Return to Main Discussion Page

Discussion

Main Menu | Search Discussions

Search Discussions

 
 

Paul W Faust - Impressions of Light

1 Year Ago

Editing My Work - Notice To Groups

I now have the nightmare of having to edit almost every one of my 1,050+ images on FAA - -
which means that I also have to upload every one of those edited images back onto FAA - -
which means that each one of them is going to be re-submitted to each group that I originally had
them added into.

So, for about the next month or so, as I do these edits, please ignore any of my images that you see
submitted into your groups. I just do not have the time to go into every image,
edit AND un-check every group box that it was added to.
So just delete all images that come in from me.
When I get this done I will be back to doing a few images a day and you will
no longer be seeing a lot of them at the same time.

Thank you for your understanding of this mess I have in front of me.
Paul

Reply Order

Post Reply
 

Vivian ANDERSON

1 Year Ago

Why do you have to do this?

 

Mike Savad

1 Year Ago

i'm wondering too?

if your editing the image there is no need to erase the whole thing, just replace the picture.


---Mike Savad

 

Mike Savad

1 Year Ago

also if they erase what you enter, why enter them at all?


---Mike Savad

 

Mary Ellen Anderson

1 Year Ago

Yes, just replace the picture. If you change the title then you will lose all the stats like votes, comments, etc. Does FAA resend an image every time you edit something? I too have received complaints from groups about over submitting and only have a total a 8 images. However, if editing keywords, etc. is re-sending then wouldn't it just overwrite?

 

Paul is right, the images resubmit because they are new images.

 

There's something I never even thought about . . . :-/

 

Mary Ellen Anderson

1 Year Ago

Beth, do the groups where you have reached your submission limit un-check automatically when uploading or editing images?

 

Roy Erickson

1 Year Ago

I've discovered that some of my "older" images are "worthless" to make prints from - they are overwhelmed with noise. I've found many of the original photo's and so as time goes by - they will be replaced. "I" feel for you Paul.

 

I am ONLY editing the image profile, which means that I have to REPLACE the image file on FAA and ONLY the image file.
Everything else stays the same, but I am checking the keywords to add to those if needed.

The problem is that when you edit an image and upload it again ALL of the boxes you checked the first time you
uploaded it are still checked so every image is sent AGAIN to each group you had it in.
Group leaders can just ignore all of these if they know about them.
Otherwise they are apt to get mad and remove the artist (ME) from the groups.
I have too much work done with these groups to have that happen.

 

Mary - NO, nothing un-checks if you go over a limit.
You just pis-off the group leaders if you do it all the time,
but they will tell you about it.

It would help us a LOT if each group showed that limit in their group title - as some do.

 

Deborah Smolinske

1 Year Ago

But wait ... maybe I'm just really thick, but if you change an image (don't change the title), can't you just untick the boxes before you click on "submit"?

 

Heather Applegate

1 Year Ago

You can do that... but as he said before, it is VERY tedious when doing as many images as he is.

 

Brian Wallace

1 Year Ago

I've often thought FAA should have an option that clears all the checked boxes for times like this. I also have had to, and am still editing many previous uploads. From my own experimentation however, I was under the impression that if your file name is not changed, the group image will just be overwritten and nothing will need to be approved via admin. Beth???

 

Mary Ellen Anderson

1 Year Ago

My assumption was like Brian's. I had no idea it was uploading again every time you changed a keyword. If you have your default set to none, does it revert to that on edit or retain previous settings?

 

Christina Rollo

1 Year Ago

"The problem is that when you edit an image and upload it again ALL of the boxes you checked the first time you
uploaded it are still checked so every image is sent AGAIN to each group you had it in."


How can we be sure this is true? I've been editing all of my images, I've never seen any of them pending in groups after an edit.

 

Seems it may be okay. Just edited one and its not pending but, if you remove the tick, it will not be in the group.

Going to test more.

 

Paul, you should be okay!

 

Margaret Saheed

1 Year Ago

I just checked an image I had edited yesterday, and in a group it still appears active (July 2012) and is not in the pending file. Like Christine, I have never seen any of my edited images in pending files. I see Beth has also just checked too!

 

It was my fault Paul thought this way.

In the past, uploading would renew the image in the group.

Seems to have changed now and I had not caught up

 

Mike Savad

1 Year Ago

i didn't think it did that, it would be like editing the image normally. only it erases the image totally instead. i've sent a few new images like that, redoing old stuff. if it's in the group it doesn't erase it and resubmit. but i don't have a group to compare to anyway. like if i resend something that was marked as a feature, i don't get featured again, and i don't think i lose that spot either.


---Mike Savad

 

Mike Savad

1 Year Ago

so now i'm curious - what's wrong with the pictures?


---Mike Savad

 

GREAT - Thanks Beth - I was just about to see if I could contact the groups another way.
Now I don't need to.

One last question about all this.....
Is there anything that can be changed that WOULD result in a new upload being added to a group that it is already in?
Like the title, or the file name of the image being uploaded.
Sometimes I may change a file name if the old one was not correctly written in the first place.

But have another problem now with uploads - - as in new post.

 

Mike Savad

1 Year Ago

as far as i know the groups aren't touched when you edit something. if you change the title it will break the link externally. but i do that every day and it doesn't seem to hurt anything. the server has ghosts in it, it's messing with the wires.


---Mike Savad

 

This discussion is closed.